The ELFA Awards


In 2012 ELFA established for the first time an award for the Best Doctoral Thesis on European Law. The award was worth 3.000 € and it also included a proxime accessit prize. Since then, ELFA has been organising this award every year. The ELFA Thesis Awards seeks to stimulate and recognize outstanding legal research as well as creating more awareness of ELFA since it attracts a very high standard of applicants from numerous European countries.

So far, researchers at the University of Leiden, Bayreuth, Oxford, Cambridge, the European University Institute in Florence and the Maastricht University, among others have won the ELFA Best Award.

The thesis awarded have dealt with a number of issues in the field of European Law, considered in a broad sense. For instance, topics discussed the transformation of the Euro,  analysed the Private International Law of the EU and its Member States or dealt with the abuse of Union Law and the regulation of the Internal Market. Other thesis considered the regulation of mobility rights and the National Higher Education autonomy in the EU or the primacy of European Law and its constitutional identities.


    2020 ELFA AWARD

    During the ELFA Annual General Meeting, on the 23rd June 2021, the results of the ELFA Thesis Award 2020 round were announced.

    After having read the theses and discussed them, the jury has decided to award the First Place to Dr. Pierre Auriel, for his thesis “L’équivalence des protections des droits fondamentaux dans l’Union européenne”. Dr. Auriel obtained his Doctorate from the Institut Michel Villey, Centre de droit européen, Université Paris-II Panthéon-Assas. He is currently a postdoctoral researcher in the framework of the Egalibex Project at the Université Jean Moulin – Lyon 3.

    The jury decided to award Proxime Acessit to Dr. Luigi Lonardo, for his thesis “Coping with distinctiveness: common foreign and security policy in EU Law.” Dr. Lonardo obtained his Doctorate from King’s College London, and he is currently a Lecturer in EU law at University College Cork.

    The members of the jury were Prof. Dr. Aurelia Colombi Ciacchi, Prof. Dr. Sofia Raanchordás and Prof. Dr. Dagmar Schiek. They remarked on the high standard of all the theses submitted.

    We are very grateful to everyone who participated!

    2019 ELFA AWARD

    “We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2019 ELFA Thesis Award Competition. We are grateful to all participants. The honorable jury was greatly impressed by the high quality of their entries. The jury, composed by Prof. Aurelia Colombi Ciacchi, Prof. Hans-Wolfgang Micklitz and Prof. Harm Schepel, has decided to award the First Prize to Dr. Lola Avril, for her thesis, Le costume sous la robe. Les avocats en professionnels multi-cartes de l’état régulateur européen: genèse, consolidation, contestations (1957—2019), defended at the Université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne.

    The jury decided to award Proxime Accessit to Dr. Andrej Lang, for his thesis, Die Verfassungsgerichtsbarkeit in der vernetzten Weltordnung. Rechtsprechungskoordination in rechtsordnungsübergreifenden Richternetzwerken. Dr. Lang obtained his Doctorate from the Freie Universität Berlin.

    Many congratulations to the winners!

    We would like to express our special thanks to the former President of ELFA, Prof. Laurence Gormley for his many years of outstanding contribution coordinating the ELFA Thesis Award competition.”

    The Board of ELFA

    May 2020

    2018 ELFA AWARD

    The 2018 ELFA Award was announced at the 2019 ELFA Conference held in Turin.  The prizes were awarded unanimously by the jury.

    The First Prize was awarded to Dr. Vestert Borger, from Leiden University, for his thesis entitled “The Transformation of the Euro: Law, Contract, Solidarity.”

    The Proxime Accessit was granted to Dr. Felix M. Wilke from Bayreuth University, for his thesis “A Conceptual Analysis of the Private International Law of the European Union and its Member States.”

    Congratulations to the winners!

    ELFA AWARD 2017

    The Winners of the 2017 Best Award on European Law have been announced! Francisco Joel Reyes y Ráfales and Zane Rasnača have been declared joint winners.

    Francisco Joel defended his thesis at the Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn. His thesis is entitled: “Unterschiedslose Beschränkungen des Warenexports in andere Mitgliedstaaten als Eingriffe in die EU-Warenverkehrsfreiheit gem. Art. 35 Alt. 2 AEUV?.”

    Zane defended her thesis at the European University Institute of Florence, the title of which is “First or one among equals? The CJEU and the construction of EU social policy.”

    Congratulations to the winners!

    ELFA AWARD 2016

    At the ELFA Conference in Brno (Czech Republic), Dr. Alexander Hoogenboom from Maastricht University was awarded First Place for his thesis on “Balancing Student Mobility Rights and National Higher Education Autonomy in the European Union”.

    Dr. Christina Joanna Angelopoulos from University of Cambridge was placed Proxime Accessit for her thesis on “European Intermediary Liability in Copyright”.

    2014 ELFA AWARD

    The second ELFA Thesis Award was announced at the European Parliament in Brussels and awarded to Dr. Anzhela Yevgenyeva, for her thesis Direct Taxation and the Internal Market: Assessing Possibilities for a More Balanced Integration, defended at the University of Oxford.

    Proxime Accessit was Dr. Vesselin Paskalev, for his thesis The Power of Reason(s): Argumentative Rationality and EU Regulation, defended at the European University Institute, Florence.