During the ELFA Annual General Meeting, on the 23rd June 2021, the results of the ELFA Thesis Award 2020 round were announced.

After having read the theses and discussed them, the jury has decided to award the First Place to Dr. Pierre Auriel, for his thesis “L’équivalence des protections des droits fondamentaux dans l’Union européenne”. Dr. Auriel obtained his Doctorate from the Institut Michel Villey, Centre de droit européen, Université Paris-II Panthéon-Assas. He is currently a postdoctoral researcher in the framework of the Egalibex Project at the Université Jean Moulin – Lyon 3.

The jury decided to award Proxime Acessit to Dr. Luigi Lonardo, for his thesis “Coping with distinctiveness: common foreign and security policy in EU Law.” Dr. Lonardo obtained his Doctorate from King’s College London, and he is currently a Lecturer in EU law at University College Cork.

The members of the jury were Prof. Dr. Aurelia Colombi Ciacchi, Prof. Dr. Sofia Raanchordás and Prof. Dr. Dagmar Schiek. They remarked on the high standard of all the theses submitted.

We are very grateful to everyone who participated!

Share This Post