The winners of the 2022 ELFA Award were announced at a ceremony held at the Association’s Annual General Meeting and Conference in Lausanne, on 13 April 2023.

The names were announced by Jivko Draganov, ELFA Vice-President and member of the Board of Directors, and Laurence Gormley, former ELFA President and coordinator of the ELFA Award.

First Prize was awarded to Dr. Sophia Ayada, for her thesis “From contesting gender stereotypes to questionning anti-stereotyping. A critical analysis of the CJEU gender equality jurisprudence”. Dr. Ayada obtained her Doctorate from the European University Institute, in Florence. She is currently a research fellow at University College London.

The jury decided to award Proxime Acessit to Dr. Eun Hye Kim, for her thesis “The Advocate General as an Actor of Change – or Consolidation – in EU Competition Law”. Dr. Kim obtained her Doctorate from the European University Institute as well. She is currently a postdoctoral researcher in the Law Department at the University of Copenhagen.

The jury of the 2022 ELFA Award was composed of Dr. Aurelia Colombi Ciacchi, Dr. Mark Dawson and Dr. Dagmar Schiek.

The quality of all the Doctoral theses presented is evidence of the high level of current research in European law.

Thank you very much to all participants!

Share This Post